Overloaded

This seems to be a recurring theme in my life lately, but for the first time I’m on the outside looking in. Usually I’m the one trying to juggle everything and fit everything onto my plate, praying nothing falls off.

Afro-American woman juggling objects

Sometimes you can’t stop things like this from happening, but most of the time you can. It just takes a little thing called: a voice.

That’s right. You need to stick up for yourself and set boundaries. Everyone’s “plate” is a different size, and no one knows exactly what’s on yours, so don’t let people add too much! And don’t be afraid to say no – even if it’s to yourself!

If you have too much going on, there’s a good chance you’re going to miss an opportunity, or forget something, or forget someONE, or cause someone else to fail. I’ve seen all of this happen in the last week and a half.

Don’t be that guy. Nobody likes that guy.

Not to mention there’s a good chance you’ll get sick. In my experience, when I put too much on my plate my body eventually shuts down.

Yes, you are valuable.

Yes, you are capable of many things.

No, you shouldn’t have to do everything.

There are plenty of people who are capable of doing things also, and either deserve to do them, or NEED to do them because they’re lazy bums who put things on your plate so they can sit around and do nothing.

Don’t be afraid to spread the load around. Things will move much smoother, I promise.

Leave a Reply

