A Beautiful Promise

Our living room here has gone through a few overhauls over the past few days. The most recent has put a table in the corner that Dave and I can both use as a desk. At the same time. We love it.

And that’s exactly what we’re doing tonight.

We’ve got worship music playing, the fire is on, dinner is in the oven, we’re in our pj’s, he’s doing something on his laptop, and I’m coloring.

Yes. Coloring.

I’m an adult, I swear!

My friend Lisa introduced me to adult coloring books earlier in the year and I flippin love them.

Photo on 11-23-15 at 6.31 PM

I opened the book to this page and tore it out without even really thinking of it, but while I was coloring I began to really think about the words.

The best is yet to come.

What a beautiful promise! I used to tell myself this all the time when I was single and lonely and sad and depressed. It was so encouraging!

The best is yet to come.

It can and will get better than this.

Well, tonight, as I sit with my husband in a warm home while he texts me that I’m “so beautiful” (when I feel like I look sub-human with no makeup, old glasses, messy hair and a big ol bathrobe) I realize that saying is still true.

The best is [still] yet to come.

Yeah, life is pretty great right now. I can’t complain about anything. But you know what? It’s still gonna get better. And I think that’s a beautiful promise.

There are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind.

-C.S. Lewis

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Promise

  1. Hi Jess; You look adorable in your robe and coloring art. I have a friend that belongs to a group that colors every Friday. She does beautiful work too! Thanks so much for sharing. What are you doing for Thanksgiving? David frying the turkey again this year? Will have dinner here with me cooking. Kel & Anthony and Sue & Greg will be here. Don’t know who else yet. Love you all, Ev

Leave a Reply

