Honeymoon Wrap-Up (AKA: I’m A Slacker)

Dave and I have been married for almost 2 months and I just realized I never wrote about our honeymoon!

Actually, I haven’t written about anything. Not even Simple Little Sunday with the youth – but that’s a story for a different time.

So I’m breaking my silence. You’re welcome, world.

After our wedding, we stayed around for a week before leaving for Kiawah for many reasons, the main one being that we had friends and family coming from LITERALLY all over the country and we didn’t want to get married and immediately leave. We wanted to spend as much time with them as we could before they left.

On Saturday, September 19th we headed south to my happy place – I was so flippin excited! Seriously. I didn’t know what I wanted to do first! Do we stop in Charleston? Go straight to the condo? Go for a bike ride? Walk to the beach? I wanted to do it all!

We arrived at my Aunt and Uncle’s condo that afternoon (if you’re looking for a vacation destination, look no further than here and tell them I sent you) and were greeted with two bags full of goodies complete with gluten free pretzels! The generosity and thoughtfulness of my family never ceases to astound me.

We had a ton of stuff we wanted to do while we were down there and we did almost all of it! We had one day of rain but it wasn’t horrible and we made the best of it by going to the aquarium. Honestly guys, this is the best aquarium I’ve been to. And not just because I took a selfie with a duck.

We had champagne on the beach.

I became a floppy hat person.

Dave got to meet some of my SC friends

Dave, Me, Dana & Ben

JD, John, Teri, Me & Dave

We went to Fort Sumter, Firefly Distillery, Cypress Gardens to hunt for gators, and on a dinner cruise.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We saw the Vietnam Experience and walked around the Yorktown Aircraft Carrier.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We went paddle boarding with dolphins and stingrays with Water Dog Paddle Co. (Ryan is amazing, if you find yourself in SC you NEED to join him on a paddle). We saw dolphins, a baby dolphin and SHARKS on a twilight kayak paddle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We went for bike rides in an attempt to not get fat and took a pedi-cab from one end of Charleston to the other, not caring about our weight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We took a carriage tour around the city and learned all about their history and met Monica and Chandler.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We went to see the Angel Oak (a HUGE oak tree that’s over 1500 years old!) and kept family tradition alive with a photo-op in front of the Pineapple fountain at Waterfront Park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And I took entirely too many pictures of the Ravenel Bridge, because it’s beautiful and I love it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, it was the perfect Honeymoon and we didn’t want to leave. Seriously. I almost cried during breakfast our last morning. But the good news, is within the first 30 minutes of being on the island, Dave asked how much I thought a condo there cost. SCORE!

Kiawah, we’ll be back. Because we love you oh so much.

2 thoughts on “Honeymoon Wrap-Up (AKA: I’m A Slacker)

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year In Review | Jessica In Real Life

Leave a Reply

