Writing Through The Happy

One thing I’ve noticed since I started this blog is that it’s incredibly easy for me to write “when I’m depressed” [read: “when I have something to complain about”] and I feel like that’s true of most people. Listen to 90% of the songs on the radio right now, are they happy songs? Not really. Most of them are people complaining or whining about something. Even Taylor Swift’s new song “Shake It Off” (which I LOVE by the way) isn’t completely happy. It has a good and positive message in it, and it’ll make me get up and dance and smile for sure, but it stems from hurt. Something bothered her enough to write about it.

And that’s my point: it’s easier to write when someone or something bothers you than when it makes you happy. It’s called “writing through the pain” – you’ve heard of it – which is why I’m titling this post “Writing Through The Happy” and it’s more difficult than I thought it would be.

For starters, I had to remind myself that it’s ok to be happy; and more importantly, it’s ok to tell people that I’m happy. And I shouldn’t be afraid that someone who’s not happy would get wind of my happiness and effectively be thrown further into their black hole of misery.

Ha! Clearly I lived in some delusional world where I thought I had more pull than I actually do.

Back in June I wrote about how my life felt stagnant, I even spoke at my church for a Friday Night Service about being at the proverbial bus stop of life. And you know what? I’m not at that bus stop anymore! But if I am, I at least have Dave to sit with me. 

With the exception of another post about a month later, that’s pretty much where my writing stopped. Not because I didn’t have anything to say, but because I didn’t have anything to encourage myself (and others in the process) out of, so what was I supposed to write about? Certainly I couldn’t brag about how awesome my life was becoming, right? So I stuck to SLS

Well, it’s time to break the silence. Because the truth is this: I. Am. Happy. Plain and simple. And I’m not ashamed of it! One might even say I’m thrilled about how my life is going lately. There have been a lot of changes, life looks pretty different than it did a year ago, but I love every bit of it. After all the starts and stops of the last 8 years, I’m finally moving forward again in pretty much every aspect of my life.

So in the words of Chandler Bing (because I can relate almost everything to FRIENDS or Will & Grace),
 

4 thoughts on “Writing Through The Happy

  1. Well GOOD! I knew someone, SOMEWHERE had to be okay and having a nice time in life…now I KNOW! And I can refer to you when people get miserable and say “Well everyone’s having a crap time” – I’ll be all “Nope – not Jessica…” 😀

  2. Pingback: 2014: The Year of Jessica – Completely | Jessica In Real Life

Leave a Reply

