2014: The Year of Jessica – Halfway…ish

When I started this year out, I decided that this was going to be MY year – The year of Jessica! –  and I said it with big arms! Like this! (…except without the field of flowers)

I wasn’t going to worry about what other people were doing, where I was in relation to that, or even what I was doing for that matter.

I wanted to try new things and travel and do something that scares the crap out of me (I still have time for that).

I wanted to focus on me and what makes me happy.

I wanted to start something with this blog that made a difference, and I think I have with Simple Little Sunday. It may still be a small platform, basically limited to my youth group, but I’ve learned to not despise the days of small beginnings.

I wanted to become a runner and guess what, I’ve successfully finished 2 5K’s with a smile on my face.

I wanted to enjoy being single and having the freedom to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted – after all, that’s the dream when you’re a kid, right?

I was doing all of these things! And loving every second of it!

…until one day, in the beginning of July, when this amazing, handsome, kind, smart, caring, funny, compassionate, God-fearing, hugable, wonderful man came and mucked everything up.

Did I see him coming? – Nope. I didn’t think it was an option so I pushed it out of my head.

Did other people see him coming? – Apparently (although we only believe some of them)

Am I ridiculously happy that he did? – You betcha!

It’s only been about two and a half weeks, but he’s already taught me so much. He makes me want to be a better person, just by being himself. He challenges me to communicate better, which is something so foreign to me when it comes to relationships with guys that it catches me off guard. He PRAYS for me (and I pray for him)! Guys. Do you pray for your “sig-oths” as Schmidt would put it? If you don’t, you should start – it’s pretty awesome, for all involved.

I could go on and on, but I won’t. Partly because I’m sure you guys don’t want to read it all, and partly because he’s a pretty private person and I don’t want to violate that.

But seriously, this year isn’t playing out the way I expected it to at all…it’s playing out better than I could have ever imagined! Cheers to more of 2014!

3 thoughts on “2014: The Year of Jessica – Halfway…ish

  1. I love it when God steps in & reminds you that He’s the one in control.. . That you can plan & plan & plan. . . But, really, when it comes right down to it, His plan is the one that will be set into action — &, if you trust it, you’ll find it’s better than you could’ve ever planned on your own. I love this! 😉

  2. Pingback: 2014: The Year of Jessica – Completely | Jessica In Real Life

Leave a Reply

