On The Edge

Image

 

Reflecting on my time in Cyprus, there’s one thing that I just can’t shake. Every time I start talking about my trip I wind up talking about this one main thing. 

Living life on the edge of faith.

Everyone I came in contact with on that island, in one way or another, is living their life on the edge.

What do I mean by this?

So many times while I was there I heard people say something to the effect of “I’m not sure where to go from here, but I know I had to take this step” or “I only know I had to share this tonight, not sure what comes next” or “I know I have to go [wherever] but I’m not sure why”. They (seemingly) had no issues doing whatever it was. Going to the edge of what they know.

They don’t see the big picture, but they trust that it’s there and they run forward with all that’s within them.

I was so inspired by this!

I was sharing this with the youth group on Sunday and one of them reminded me of the scene in Lord of the Rings when Gandalf jumps off of Orthanc (I think that’s what it was…correct me if I’m wrong) and it seems like he’s going to plummet to his death. But the next thing you know he’s soaring by on an eagle! It’s kind of like that.

Image

Did Gandalf see the eagle before he jumped? I don’t know. But I can promise you that even if I saw the eagle, I’d still be hesitant to throw myself off that cliff. There are so many unknowns! Does the eagle see me? Does it actually plan on catching me? Can it even catch me?! Am I just going to cause us both to crash and burn?! When would an EAGLE ever catch a PERSON?! I can’t trust it! 

If I’m being honest…which I promise to always be here…I don’t live like that. I WANT to, but it’s kind of terrifying. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for taking steps forward, even running at times, but I like to know where I’m going before I get there. My comfort zone is staying a few steps ahead in my mind. BUT if you know anything about following The Lord, you know that He thinks comfort zones are hilarious and I’m pretty sure He gets a kick out of pushing us out of them.

Right now, in my life, I’m in a holding pattern. I’ve gone as far as I can go. I’m on the edge of my cliff and I’m waiting for the next step to be shown to me.

Image

I have no idea what it is, but I promise you I’m going to try my best to leap forward without looking once I get some direction.

I’m going to try to not hesitate.

I’m going to try and live my life on the edge of faith.

I’ve seen the concerns, but I’ve also seen the rewards, and they’re always infinitely better than “playing it safe”.

2 thoughts on “On The Edge

  1. Pingback: J-2.0 | Jessica In Real Life

Leave a Reply

