How Noah Met Your Mother

This week I’ve had the privilege of watching not one, but TWO things that were so intense for my brain to grasp onto I required a de-brief with people before we went our separate ways. Sunday night it was Noah and Monday night it was the series finale of How I Met Your Mother.

WARNING! BEFORE I GO ON! SPOILER ALERT!!!! SPOILER ALERT!! If you haven’t seen either of these and PLAN on it and DON’T want them to be ruined DO NOT READ THIS!

OK, you’ve been warned. Don’t yell at me if you didn’t listen.

We’ll start with the movie that has Christians’ panties all up in a bunch:

NOAH

Image

 

I’m not gonna lie, the fact that so many Christians were having issues with this movie was a driving force for me to go see it. For those of you who haven’t figured it out yet, I am a Christian. I believe everything the Bible says. Jesus and I are BFF. That being said, I don’t think that anyone should write off a movie because it doesn’t exactly follow the book.

Were there aspects of the movie that weren’t true to the Bible? Absolutely. Did that ruin the experience for me? Absolutely not. Because here’s the thing, movies never adhere completely to the book they’re based on. And the only way things get changed is if the author vetos something because it’s not being portrayed the way they envisioned it. And guess what…Moses is kinda dead, so it’d be difficult to get his opinion on it.

Some people were upset that God seemed so distant from Noah. As my friend Bethany so astutely pointed out: HE WAS!!! Have you read the rest of the Bible? Or even have a general gist of it? This was BEFORE Jesus, who, btw, is the way we get to God. So yeah, God is distant, because the “missing link” isn’t there yet!

People also need to keep in mind that an Atheist was the mastermind behind this movie. Do you know how huge it is that he even WANTED to make a movie based on a story from the Bible? I’ll let that sink in for a moment….

I like how he portrayed the fallen angels (I’m pretty sure this is where he lost a lot of religious people) and how some were forgiven and went back to the heavens to be with the Creator again.

While I think it sucks that Ham doesn’t get a wife (neither does his little brother) even though in the Bible they did, I get it. In fact, I get all the “wrong” things that happened on the Ark in this movie: Tubal-Cain gets on the ark and hides while eating animals and convincing Ham that Noah needs to die, Noah decides that Ila and Shem’s children have to die…and he’s going to kill them, Noah thinks God wants them all to die just like the rest of the people; because without these things you have no drama. And what sells? Drama! No one wants to watch a movie where 8 people sit happily on a huge boat with a ton of animals for 9+ months with no complications. Not even the kids in Sunday School that have to! People want drama!

Also, the animals Tubal-Cain was eating? We’re thinking they were unicorns and dinosaurs, since they’re not on the earth today. In case you were wondering 🙂

Bottom line: I’d watch this movie again in a heartbeat, and still love every minute of it. I laughed (probably more than expected) and cried. The underlying theme through it all was mercy and love. How can you go wrong?

Here’s my favorite review of Noah. You’re welcome.

Moving along…

How I Met Your Mother Finale

Image

 

It’s been two days and I’m STILL trying to figure out how I feel about this. So many things happened in the span of an hour! Barney and Robin get divorced, Marshall and Lily have a third child and move out of their apartment, Barney becomes a dad, Ted has 2 kids and then marries the mother…AND THEN SHE DIES!!!! And at the end of his “story” for his kids they convince him that he’s loved Robin the whole time and needs to date her.

Seriously?

Is the slap-bet still on? Because I’m pretty sure I got hit.

There were a lot of things I loved about the episode, I’ll give them that. But I just don’t feel like there was real closure with anything. I want to know about Italy and the other 2 Eriksen children. What does Marvin look like now? What does he think of his middle name? How is Barney at being a father? Does he have any relationship with 31? What did Robin do that was so epic, presumably when Tracy dies, that she becomes Aunt Robin to Ted’s kids and they become super close again? But most importantly: WHAT’S THE FREAKIN STORY WITH THE PINEAPPLE?!

I have a feeling that once the dust settles on this finale and everyone has the chance to fully process it either one of two things will happen. We’ll hate it and never watch the show again or we’ll think it’s brilliantly amazing.

Because Ted was right, love doesn’t make sense. But I’ll be damned if it doesn’t sting sometimes.

At this point, I think the main reason I’ll watch through it all again is to see the little sightings and clues of the mother. And if they’re there as much as I hope they are, there was WAY more to this series than I thought there was.

Plus I’ll go through Stinson withdrawals, because:

2 thoughts on “How Noah Met Your Mother

  1. Just commenting on the HIMYM finale. I wish the Robin/Ted thing wouldn’t have happened. It just felt forced, like they needed that story line to come full circle. Still, I’ll miss Barney. He was the best. Now, what to watch on Monday nights???

Leave a Reply

