I laughed, I cried, I peed a little

Image

What a roller coaster of a weekend! So many emotions! I’m still trying to process it all.

We’ll start with Friday night. Danielle and Patrick did an acoustic set for worship at our Friday night service, and it nearly wrecked me. Don’t get me wrong, I love having the full band with the driving bass line and full drums but there’s something so intimate about two voices and a guitar…

Then my friend Caitlin spoke about space, discovery, Jesus and Narnia. It was awesome. She’s a natural!

Saturday brought a flurry of activities, each one wonderful in their own way. First, I had breakfast with this amazing woman of God:Β 

Image

Β 

Emily is honestly one of the sweetest and strongest people I know to date. I only know a portion of her story, and we only get to see each other MAYBE once a year (although I believe we’ll be fixing that this week – yay!) but every time we talk I’m just blown away by her heart for people and her perspective on things. She also started a blog! And I’m SO excited to see what adventure it takes her on, because let’s be honest, blogging is an adventure.I also know she has a LOT of knowledge and wisdom up in that brain of hers and once she starts to unleash it for all the world to read there’s no telling what will happen. So jump on this bandwagon early with me! She only has one post so far, so there’s not too much to catch up on πŸ˜‰

I went from there to hanging out with my godkids and their mom at the mall for a bit. They crack me up (as always). Here are some pictures of us playing with puppets:

Image

The big red guy was my favorite

Image

Leila and the super cute raccoon

Image

Julia rocked two

Image

The voice and “script” Andrew had for this lobster was hilarious

Image

Mom joined in on the fun too πŸ™‚

Β 

Saturday night we had our last “full” Family Dinner, at least for a while, because Elizabeth, Zack and Jake are moving to Florida on Tuesday. SADNESS! I’m super excited for them and their new adventures they’re embarking on, and I’m proud of them all for the steps that they’re taking and how they’re listening to The Lord, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t cry about it. Numerous times.Β 

Dinner was still a blast though.

Everyone brought something to share and we just hung out and enjoyed each other’s company. Even when people who shall remain nameless put zip ties on coat sleeves while other people weren’t looking. Let’s just say that Jesse Mac learned that I’m a scrappy fighter and that I attack like a spider monkey. He has one more attack coming to him, but in honor of HIMYM and Marshall and Barney it will happen when he least expects it.

Image

Making dinner…with Tim’s “polar vortex” mouth

Image

I pretty much found the coolest drinking chalice…

Image

…second only to Tim’s tiny wine glass

Image

I love these people with everything in me

Then came the tearful Sunday. Oye. Today was rough guys. Every time I composed myself something else would wreck me. I’m not going to lie, I kept my sanity at church by watching New Girl on my iPad during both services. I’m not proud of it, but I needed to laugh, and the Mensies episode from season 2 was the perfect thing for that.

I led worship, which I’m usually pumped for, but today it was certainly a sacrifice of praise. Once again I was brought to a place where I needed to fully rely on God to get through. And you know what? HIs faithfulness still astounds me. I don’t think it’s something I’ll ever get over. There’s no way I would’ve gotten through 2 services on my own, especially since I didn’t have the full band to hide behind, just me, Patrick, a guitar and a keyboard. But by the grace of God (literally) I got through it.Β 

I spent the afternoon with Zack and Elizabeth and it was eventually time to say goodbye. No, I hate goodbyes, they’re so permanent. This wasn’t goodbye, it was see ya later. Which, ps, incase anyone wasn’t aware, sucks just as much as goodbye. As soon as I hugged Elizabeth I lost it, and everyone ran out of the room because they didn’t want to join me in my glass case of emotion. Whatever.

On the plus side, 5 years ago I perfected driving through hysterical tears, so there’s that.

I’ll be ok, I always am, I just hate when people move. If I think about it too much it makes me feel like my life is stagnant. So we’ll just end this with the excitement that I have another place to visit where I don’t have to pay for a bed to sleep in.

Image

2 thoughts on “I laughed, I cried, I peed a little

  1. It’s so difficult to have your people spread out all over the place. I know this well… my two closest friends have lived either in China or on the opposite side of the states for the last several years. Amazingly enough, their odd life choices have brought both of them back within about 150 miles of me, soooo… you never know πŸ˜‰ I still have family that’s far away… it definitely makes facebook, skype, and texting all the more important!

    • Absolutely! I have friends, literally, all over the world and Skype is what makes it bearable. It’s a good thing I like to travel, and that I’m able to do so. If you can’t beat ’em, and you can’t join ’em, then you visit ’em.

Leave a Reply

