When you’re down to nothing…

Sometimes I question things that I say – or don’t say – to people throughout the day. I go over conversations in my head and think of how I could’ve said or done something differently that would maybe make a better outcome. I know I’m not the only one who does this, and if you say you don’t, you’re probably lying to yourself. And now me. How could you?!

The simple fact of the matter is that we all fail daily. Even when we try our best and think we’re doing great, in one way or another we fail. Pretty disheartening, huh? But that’s part of being human. We’re not perfect. The Lord is though, and He doesn’t fail – EVER.

I’m reminded of the song One Thing Remains. If you have 12 minutes to spare, click that link and take a look-see. If not, the chorus says “Your love never fails/It never gives up/It never runs out on me”. We can rest in that truth, because it’s not changing. Ever. No matter what you think.

While I was driving home tonight I was reminded of the verse Romans 8:28 which says

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

and I found comfort in it. No matter what I do, no matter how I fail, no matter how much I think I’ve screwed everything up, He’s going to turn it into something glorious! I’ve seen it time and time again in my life, yet I still have a hard time accepting it and understanding it. Go figure. I guess I’m pretty thick-headed.

Probably one of the biggest moments of this in my life happened about 5 years ago. I was in a VERY rough time in my life, every love I knew had left (some violently) and I felt like I had no one and nothing. I had stopped going to church because the guy I was dating at the time got offended (understandably so) and I took on that offense as well, but I hadn’t found Valley Shore yet so I basically had no spiritual support group.

Let me back up a bit. About 11 or 12 years ago I had this overwhelming feeling that I didn’t belong in my church anymore, that The Lord wanted me to leave. Not because anything bad was going on, but because He molded me there to fit me somewhere else. But having been at this church for about 17 years I had no idea what to do with that feeling, it terrified me. So I suppressed it and got involved with as many things as I could to make myself fit. Guess what, it didn’t work. And I didn’t wind up leaving for another 6 or 7 years. That’s a long time to be out of the will of God and covered in grace! MAN, am I’m thankful for grace!

Anyway, looking back I fully believe that The Lord allowed me to be in that toxic relationship for as long as I was and allowed the offense to come in because at that point He was out of options. He tried to tell me nicely to go, and I didn’t listen. Then I got burnt out every time I tried to be a part of something, still didn’t listen. It took heart-wrenching offense and grief in order for me to go where He was leading me.

And while 5 years ago I was convinced that I messed everything up and failed in ways I never thought possible, He turned it all around for good! My life is 1-million times better than I ever imagined and I have a stronger and more real relationship with the Maker of the universe. Pretty cool! Plus, I was able to start walking in my destiny! Something I was asked to NOT do previously! I literally had to be pushed out in order to get there.

So I know, that no matter what I say or what I do, in the end, The Lord sees the big picture and knows just where to place me and the things/people around me to make everything great again. I don’t have to worry about it!

Let’s be real…I’m going to worry about it haha

BUT if I keep reminding myself that He never fails and that He’ll make everything work together for my good, I can get through the day without running my car off the road. Ok, that was a bit drastic, but you know what I mean.

So be encouraged today. When you feel like you’re down to nothing…that’s when God is up to something. Wait it out, trust in Him, and brace yourself for the results. Chances are, it’ll blow your mind.

5 thoughts on “When you’re down to nothing…

  1. That last paragraph is a beautiful promise. I especially needed to read it today, when I am in a season of my life of waiting, trusting, and probably needing to be more obedient.

  2. Pingback: 2014: The Year of Jessica – Completely | Jessica In Real Life

Leave a comment