Dreams & Goals

I’m sitting here FINALLY able to watch some of The Olympics and I’m blown away by these people. I’m always pumped for The Olympics because it’s a reason for me to be excited about my country, but this year I’m really thinking about the actual people that are competing. ALL of the people, not just the ones from The States.

Most of these men and women have devoted their entire lives to training and prepping to compete in the Olympic games. Somewhere out there, there’s a 5 year old who wants to be the next Shawn White and they’re going to get up early, and possibly travel really far, to make that dream a reality – for the next 20 years. 20 years! Do you know what I wanted to do 20 years ago? Be a Girl Scout and play piano. I had one conversation with my parents about joining the Girl Scouts (never happened, I didn’t fight for it, and it doesn’t bother me at all) and I have almost completely lost my ability to read sheet music. I can rock chords like no one’s business though, so I’ve got that going for me.

These people are so inspiring! They saw something they wanted and they went for it with everything in them. Sure they fell, got hurt, maybe broke bones, had concussions, maybe someone even went into a coma! Who knows! And I’m confident they had to make hard decisions and miss out on a lot of things that most of us consider “must-haves” in childhood like prom and class trips. But to them it was all worth it, because they saw Olympic Gold and would settle for nothing less. CRAZY!

If we devoted a quarter of our time and efforts into our hopes and dreams that they do can you imagine where we’d be?

I know personally, sometimes I let those mishaps and roadblocks become bigger than they really are, and I let them slow me down or stop me altogether.

For example: running. This is a goal of mine this year. I will become a runner. But I’ve already hit a few road blocks. First, the weather turned on me and it’s been ENTIRELY too cold to run outside. So I have to drag my butt to the gym. The gym, mind you, that’s 5 minutes from my house, and I still have to drag myself kicking and screaming. I guess the good news is that I do it.

BUT I no longer have gym shoes, because I threw them out a couple days ago. Why, you ask? Because they sucked. My feet always went numb during cardio and last week I got a giant blister on my heel. So yeah, they’re done. I couldn’t take it anymore. Nike’s are not the shoe for me. Now I have to find time (and money) to go get my feet measured and get properly fitted for running shoes – something I’ve wanted to do, and now I have to. And who knows when that’ll be. Next week maybe? I don’t know…

What kinds of dreams and goals do you have? What’s stopping you? Are you going to sit back and let it or are you going to grab the reigns of your life back and press onward? 

Guys, if these men and women can devote their ENTIRE LIVES to riding a board face first down an ice track at ridiculous speeds and not dying, why can’t we devote ours to our dreams?

What makes their dreams better than ours? The answer, is nothing

3 thoughts on “Dreams & Goals

  1. A few weeks ago a saw someone play he Cello, really well.  It almost brought me to tears.  At that moment I said, someday I’m going to play the Cello and play it well. 

  2. It’s so true– it really is inspiring. I’ve visited the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs and I felt like I needed to go run up a mountain and chase my dreams 😉 I’ve never been very good at pursuing things with that level of drive… but I’m trying to make up for lost time, now!

  3. I could not agree with you more, Jessica, on the inspiration they can provide. And I don’t even mean solely in a working out sense. For anyone to pursue their dream at anything. I’ve followed the Olympics since I was a kid and quickly learned that our athletes our not paid and supported for by our government like so many other countries do for their’s. That is not a complaint about the U.S. but I further endorsement about what “our” kids are doing over there! GO USA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

