10 Things I’ve Learned from Primetime Sitcoms

1. Nothing good ever happens after 2am – How I Met Your Mother

Image

Seriously, think back to a time when you were awake at 2am or later. Maybe you were with a new love interest, maybe you were with friends, maybe you were by yourself. Did you make a good decision? Doubtful. Chances are, you fooled around with him/her and made things awkward in the morning or you leaned out of the car window and participated in a “paintball drive-by” or you started thinking too much and wound up bawling your eyes out. Not that I’ve done any of these things…but take a tip from my friend Ted Mosby and just go to bed. You’ll thank yourself in the morning.

2. If you get picked for jury duty you can always get out of it – 30 Rock

Image

I’ve never been picked for jury duty (knock on wood) and to be honest, I don’t think I could pull a Liz Lemon. But it’s good to know the option is there.

3. Sometimes you need to pump yourself up for the day – New Girl

Image

Because other than putting on makeup and doing your hair, what else are mirrors for? Haha seriously though, there’s power in your words and your thoughts and it’s really important to speak highly of yourself. Declare truths over yourself at the beginning of the day. Remind yourself how amazing you are.

4. If you love someone, do something about it – Big Bang Theory

Image

The quote is funny, but the words are true. If you like or love someone, do something about it! People aren’t mind-readers and they won’t know where they stand with you if you don’t tell them. Don’t assume someone knows how you feel, tell them. And tell them often! Unless you’re telling them you hate them…then you may want to just say it once haha

5. Sometimes guys don’t get a say – FRIENDS

Image

I actually quote this line fairly often. No offense guys, but you don’t really get a say when it has to do with our bodies. I once dated a guy (please note the past tense) who said to me “haven’t you had, like, a million of them? Aren’t you used to it by now?” regarding cramps and my period. SERIOUSLY? He’s lucky I didn’t rip his head off and just responded with “how about I kick you in the balls every time it hurts with the intensity of the cramp and you tell me if you get used to it!” Ha! That shut him up! He would also tell me things like “oh your boobs don’t hurt”. Right, because they’re attached to you, not me. So I quote Rachel Green: No uterus, no opinion! Sorry guys.

6. Sometimes you just gotta dance! – Parks & Rec

Image

hahahaha Gonna be honest, I just wanted to use this gif. It makes me so happy! Look at Ron, all drunk and not caring. Love – It! Seriously though, busting a move has got to be good for the soul, even if it’s only for a few seconds.

7. It’s important to be yourself – Will & Grace

Image

If you think you’re awesome and feel like making an entrance, then by all means DO IT! Be you, because if you’re not, who will?

8. Turning 30 is not the end of the world – FRIENDS

Image

Pretty sure I was having a quarter life crisis the few months leading up to my 30th birthday. But when all was said and done, I survived! I don’t really feel that old…most of the time haha as long as I don’t talk about age with people. I’m 31 now and I still don’t believe it. I look and feel like I’m still in my 20’s, so that’s what I’m going with.

9. Caffeine is bad – Will & Grace

Besides this being one of my favorite moments on Will & Grace, it’s strangely familiar. Caffeine is bad bad bad news for me. I get all giggly and fidgety, I can’t sit still, I talk super fast (faster than usual) and loud, and I’m probably going to sing a lot, and dance. But the worst part is the morning after, it’s worse than a hangover. Never. Again.

10. Best friends will believe for you – Parks & Rec

Image

There are a lot of times in life that you lose hope and you feel like you can’t go on or nothing good will ever happen. That’s when friends come in. They’ll believe in you and for you when you don’t. I recently had a friend of mine say she believed I’d get married one day and it almost brought me to tears, because most days I don’t feel like that’s a possibility. I’ve also had the opportunity recently to believe for a friend that she’ll get through the hell she’s walking through, even if she doesn’t believe it, and I really do. Have a friend. Be a friend. It helps the world go ’round.

Leave a Reply

