Weekend Update

…like SNL’s Weekend Update, but with less humor and more of what happened in my life and not so much around the world. It’s ok, it won’t be too hard for you to imagine, after all, Tina Fey is my doppelgänger:

Image

See? Just like twins!

Anyway, Saturday I made the trek up to Uncasville to a friend’s house for a post-Christmas Christmas party. It was pretty low key, nothing too crazy. Unless you consider adults joining the kids in Just Dance to be “crazy”. Not gonna lie, that was pretty fun, especially when I told Max to “shake what his mama gave him” and let me tell you, he did NOT disappoint hahaha! Esther made some delicious lasagna, including a gluten free one for me! Half of it is in my freezer right now and I’m pretty pumped about that. We also played one of my favorite games ever: CatchPhrase. If you haven’t played this, do yourself a favor and get on that. So. Much. Fun. I also got to spend some quality time with my godkids, which is always a plus! Here’s a picture of me with my goddaughters, Julia and Leila and their bff Emma:

Image

The picture quality isn’t the best, but the people quality is off the charts! I love these girls!

My fun was cut short there to head over to my first Shoreline Night of Worship practice. I’m so excited for this new endeavor, you have no idea! Leading worship is my passion, it’s what makes my heart come alive and I’m pretty sure that’s obvious to anyone who witnesses it. I feel so fortunate to have found what I was put on this earth to do and even more so that I get to do it! Our first night of worship is February 1st at 7pm at Cornerstone Church in Clinton. Come one come all!

Sunday morning I woke up at 6am and couldn’t figure out if I was excited or nervous. Does that ever happen to you? Well, it happens to me. To go along with my previous post, I decided to go with the positive and be “excited” for the day. It wasn’t the BEST day of my life, but it definitely did not disappoint. I got to lead worship (see my previous paragraph for how I feel about that) and then got some tea and aimlessly drove around with a friend I haven’t had quality time with since October. It was cut short, but beggars can’t be choosers and I’m thankful for the time that I got with him. Quality time is HUGE in my book, definitely one of my love languages (along with giving gifts, physical touch and chocolate).

I finished Sunday with one of my favorite things ever: family dinner. Now, this isn’t family I was put into, this is family I chose, and they’re the best thing that’s happened to me in the last 5 years. I cherish each and every one of them and can honestly say I don’t know where I’d be without them in my life. Anyway, this dinner consisted of breakfast and football. Pretty delightful, no?

ImagePomegranate Chia Seed Pancakes (my creation)

ImageThe great bacon fight of 2013

Bethany supplied the fresh OJ (side note: I kinda want a juicer now. And my birthday is next Wednesday…just saying). Gabriel made eggs and bacon with help from Christi, Bethany, Sergio and Michelle. Why so many people to make bacon? Have you ever burned it in the oven? That’s why. And Patrick? Well, he just partook of our efforts. But that’s ok, because in the summer he grills for us, so it all evens out.

All in all, I’d say it was a pretty good weekend 🙂

One thought on “Weekend Update

Leave a Reply

