Gotta give the people what they want!

 

 

 

 

I’ve toyed with the idea of starting a blog for at least a year now but I never did, for plenty of reasons. Ok, let’s be honest: I was too lazy. But then I had this revelation:

Image

 

and I figured, if over 100 people follow my stream-of-consciousness on twitter, why wouldn’t people read a blog? So here we are, almost a month later, and it begins. 

There are a few things I’d like to address in my first post: 

 

1. Everyone is always saying that I should write more. I mean, I’m trying to be (ok I AM – yeah that’s still weird) a songwriter and all writers should do one thing: write, write, write, write. I can’t tell you how many journals I have sitting in my room that have a few pages written on and that’s it. I try, I really do, but it’s just not high on my priority list. So I figure, if I have people to be held accountable to maybe I’ll actually do it. Ha! We’ll see how that goes. If I know people are reading it I’m hoping I’ll make more of an effort. 

 

2. This blog probably won’t have a theme. Unless live-journaling is a theme. It’ll be my ramblings (like twitter but with more than 140 characters). An organized chaos if you will.

 

3. I would like to formally apologize now if I offend or upset anyone. I feel like that’s bound to happen at some point.

 

4. I wanted to give a little shout out to the 4 people on twitter who were all-for this new endeavor. 

First: Wayne LaFlamme. Gonna be honest, I don’t really know him all that well but he has two adorable children, one of which I got to make an Avenger’s themed birthday cake for and a beautiful wife who I seem to have a ton in common with. I feel like if I actually hung out with them instead of just stalking their adorable children online we’d be pretty good friends. 

Second, Denise Cote. This woman is one of the few who I will actually follow back on social media. She has a great sense of humor with witty comebacks. According to twitter she’s a “Former feminist-agnostic-libertarian-intellectual snob turned social and fiscal conservative lover of Jesus.” and because of this I feel like she doesn’t get offended as easily as other people. 

Third, Tim Bolton. Ok, I’m pretty sure I used to babysit this kid. If not, I definitely was at his grandmother’s while she watched all of us growing up. It’s crazy to think about how long you’ve known someone sometimes, especially when you met as kids. Seeing how he’s grown into such an amazing, well, man (weird!) is just incredible. I love the fact that he came back into my life!

And finally, Jessica Latshaw. This girl probably has absolutely no idea how much she’s encouraged and influenced me over the last 15 years. I first “met” her when I went to a youth conference and she was playing piano and singing on the worship team. Noticing any similarities? Yeah. Then listening to the songs that she would write and actually meeting her and her family when I went to a Leadership Training School that her brother’s (among others) put on, I was done. If this girl could do that, and be a normal person in the process, then so could I! Granted it’s been 12 years and I’m still working on it, but whatever. We were never close by any stretch of the means, but I liked her. They all just kinda fell off my grid for a while, until almost 2 years ago when this went viral and I had a Buddy The Elf moment at work: OMG! I KNOW HER! So now I stalk her on pretty much everything. It’s pretty great. 

 

So there ya have it folks, my first blog post. We’ll see what happens from here. 

Leave a Reply

